Student Newsletter -April 2014- By Moustafa Othman, School of Science

Hello everyone! My name is Moustafa Othman. I’m from Egypt. And this is my first year here in this lovely country, Japan. I’m studying Fundamental & Applied Physics at the school of science.

Featured image

Regarding my experiences in Japan, I had a lot of amazing experiences here. I arrived in Japan on the 23rd of last September. I missed my train and spent a night at Narita airport. Then while taking the Shinkansen I fell asleep and missed Nagoya and opened my eyes to find myself in Kyoto. I had a seven-day Orientation at Nagoya University in which I have made a lot of wonder-ful friends from all over the world and discovered our uni-versity and how everything works here. I consider this week as one of my favorite times in Japan because I was like a child discovering new things; traditions, people, and food. Everything was different from my country so I was very excited to discover them, in fact that this has been my first time living outside Egypt. I’ve introduced myself to my new professors and supervisors. I’ve seen the buildings, the labs and the sports facilities which all were amazing and well-equipped.

Featured imageFeatured image

Featured image
On the 1st of October, we started our courses. We had a diversity of both natural sciences and liberal arts courses. All of them were very interesting and the professors were really helpful. I gained a lot of new and useful infor-mation. I haven’t traveled to other cities, but I went around Nagoya city during my first semester and I’ve visited almost all the stations. I went to new Japanese restaurants, Higashiyama Zoo, Karaoke, the Sky Tower, Ice skating, the TV tower, big malls like the one in Nagoya Dome station etc. Also, I really enjoyed international food parties which we’ve made to share with other international students.

Featured image
The only problem with me when I came here was that I didn’t know any Japanese language except for some few simple words which was a funny thing because I had to explain the things I wanted to say by my gesture and body language rather than spoken language. But after two intensive Japanese courses for the first semester, I can now express at least what I want to say in a way that the listener will understand which really helped me during shopping and travelling around.

Featured imageFeatured image

Featured image

Featured image

Featured image

Leave a Reply

